Message in a bottle

I sailed across the ocean
I braved the stormy sea
Searching for my lover
So that they can set me free
It tried to drag me under
And pull me from above
The current was relentless
But it cannot drown our love
My body bruised and broken
But my devotion never shattered
The waves took their toll
But finding you, was all that mattered
At last, in sight the shore
A breath of joy I did release
As I drifted towards the front
The tide beneath me did decrease
Anchored in the sand
The distant sun began to set
My love for you was waiting
In the place where we first met
Several years passed by
And as the moon rolled in and out
I longed to hear your footsteps
But they did not come about
My heart, it waited patient
But a grief within it grew
As I slowly slipped away again
Once more away from you
One crisp clear night I knew
When the stars began to glow
The time had come for me to rest
For you too, had let me go.

-M, Courage. Copyright 2020.

Published by mmcourage

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mabelcourage/

One thought on “Message in a bottle

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started